Nestled between Danville and Blackhawk, Diablo sits at the base of Mount Diablo for which it is named. Diablo, less than 2 square miles, was established in the early 1900s as a summer vacation spot for wealthy San Francisco residents who wanted to escape the fog. In 1912 Robert Noble Burgess purchased Oakwood Stock Farm and transformed it into a summer resort?the Mount Diablo Park Club. It was not long before Diablo had became a hot-spot for upper-class tourists. The San Francisco and Oakland society pages often featured articles about the parties and dances held at the Mt. Diablo Park Club. Today the Diablo community is occupied by nearly 1000 people living at the foot of beautiful Mount Diablo. Although Diablo is no longer the only country club in the valley, it has a uniqueness and a history unrivaled among communities in the East Bay.